Skip to main content

ENGL 325 Writing for Engineers

A guide for helping you to do research in the field of engineering.

Open Web Resources

Air University Library

                Index to military periodicals

CASSI

The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information.

Civil Engineering Database

                The Civil Engineering Database is from the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Defense Technical Information Center

The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) has served the information needs of the Defense community for more than 70 years. DTIC reports to the Assistant Secretary of Defense For Research and Engineering (ASD(R&E)).

DieselNet

DieselNet is an independent online information service covering technical and business information on diesel engines, emissions, fuels, and other technologies required by the clean and efficient diesel engines of the future.

The International Nuclear Information System

The International Nuclear Information System (INIS)
hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. It offers online access to a unique repository of non-conventional literature. INIS is operated by the IAEA in collaboration with over 150 members.‚Äč

MatWeb

MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

The Materials Project

Harnessing the power of supercomputing and state of the art electronic structure methods, the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials. *Does require you to sign up using an email account. 

NTRS

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF ENERGY (NLE)

The National Library of Energy Beta (NLE) discovery tool has been discontinued as part of OSTI's streamlining of products to re-focus and re-balance operations to advance public access to scholarly publications resulting from Department of Energy (DOE) research funding.

National Technical Reports

               Abstracts, indexes, and archives of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports

Patent Databases

   Patent full-text databases from the US Patent and Trademark Office

RiP

RiP The Transportation Research Board's Research in Progress (RiP) Database contains information on more than 14,000 current or recently completed transportation research projects. RIP records primarily are projects funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation and State Departments of Transportation. University transportation research also is included in the database.

Science.gov

              Search over 60 databases and 2,200 scientific websites specific to federal science information. 

TRID

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

WorldWideScience.org

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.  For more information, please view the FAQ.