Part of the Museums of Western Colorado in downtown Grand Junction, the research library includes many archival collections. Material on the former Teller Indian School might be of particular interest for this assignment.
SCA holds the historical records of the university since its founding in 1925, including photographs, reports, memorabilia, course catalogs, yearbooks, the Criterion, and other university and student publications. The collections also include books and materials related to local history.
A collection of digitized books in the public domain (mostly pre-1924). For your assignment try keywords like an author's last name, speech, essay, or other rhetorical writing that you're interested in finding.
The DPLA includes archival material and rare publications digitized by archives and libraries across the US to increase access. For your assignment use keywords like rhetoric, speech, essay or an author's last name and select one of the subjects on the left-hand side of the results list to focus your results.
This collection of digitized heritage objects from throughout Europe offers an opportunity to look for rhetorical writings from outside the United States. Focus on "manuscripts" for writings that might be of interest.
Use NARA's catalog to search millions of archival items. Click on "Available Online" or "Archival Descriptions with Digital Objects" to focus on items that are available for online viewing and downloading.
A list of digital libraries and archives that have material openly available for access and research. These include ebook libraries as well as archival repositories so make sure that you're accessing the kind of content you need for your research.
"This site explores--and offers users the opportunity to explore--the rhetoric of computational propaganda that occurred on Facebook during the 2016 election. The IRAdS website contains over 3,000 Facebook advertisements that the Internet Research Agency, a Russia-linked “troll farm,” purchased in the run-up to the 2016 election campaign. This is one of the most sophisticated efforts at computational propaganda yet, but little systematic analysis has been done on this data corpus."
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
"Persuasive Weapons explores the militarization of images and words used to mobilize the masses during World War I. This digital exhibit features over 100 examples of WWI propaganda posters housed at The University of Alabama Special Collections representing a broad spectrum of persuasive strategies designed to secure public support for a global conflict that brought unimaginable death and destruction."
For the first time ever, the digital collections of the various Oxford college special collections and archives are now available in one portal. Many writers attended Oxford over the years, and their works may be represented among the digital collections.
Online archival research tips
Most archival materials are not digitized and online
Often archives include collection guides (also called finding aids) that describe a collection of items (photographs, syllabi, reports, letters, etc.), but nothing from that collection has been digitized
You can email or call the archives staff to double-check - sometimes the items have been digitized but not made available on their website
Be flexible with your search terms (also called keywords) - often a single word is better than a phrase (more than one word) to start a search
Google might help you find archives or collection guides, but you probably won't easily find digitized items from archival collections
Context is important to understand primary sources - often what you find in Google images is removed from its context (where it came from, who made the original, why they made it)
Archivists love context - (who, what, where, why, when) and make sure to provide as much as they can
You can ask archival staff to digitize something in a collection - but understand that they might say they don't have time or that it will cost money
Some digitized archival items can be easily downloaded as high-resolution digital files - others may require you to contact the archives staff and request a high-resolution digital file directly (this is typically determined based on the copyright status of the item)