LibGuides: CONM 181: Principles of Construction Management: Starting Your Research

Getting Started with CONM Research

Browse our books by subject:

Related Databases...

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Mathematics & Statistics, Computer Science, Kinesiology Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Some full-text peer-reviewed articles from 1950-current.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Nursing, Kinesiology, Social & Behavioral Sciences Full-text to peer-reviewed journals across multiple disciplines.

CumInCAD (open access)
CumInCAD is a Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design
supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures

Search within a subject specific database.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) -- Subjects: Business, Mathematics & Statistics, Computer Science, Kinesiology. Covers all aspects of business in peer-reviewed journals and trade publications, including Marketline Industry and Company Reports from 1965-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Humanities International Index (EBSCO) -- Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication. Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Lexis-Nexis Academic -- Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication. Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.
OSHA's eTools, eMatrix, Expert Advisors and v-Tools -- eTools and the eMatrix are "stand-alone," interactive, Web-based training tools on occupational safety and health topics. They are highly illustrated and utilize graphical menus. Some also use expert system modules, which enable the user to answer questions, and receive reliable advice on how OSHA regulations apply to their work site. Expert Advisors are based solely on expert systems and v-Tools are prevention video training tools. Selected eTools are available as downloadable files for off-line use. Other training and reference materials are also available from the OSHA Directorate of Training and Education (DTE). In addition, OSHA also has other training videos available.
State Electrical Regulations -- This publication summarizes the major provisions of electrical code, enforcement, and contractor/electrician licensing requirements for each state in the U.S. It is based upon information supplied by NECA Chapters. For more current or detailed information about electrical requirements in a particular state, contact the agency listed under Contact.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection -- Subjects: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics. Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
Up Codes - Colorado Building Codes
Wiley Online Library -- Subjects: Business, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Nursing, Kinesiology, Social & Behavioral Sciences. Full-text to peer-reviewed journals across multiple disciplines.

Magazines and Journals to consider using...

Advanced Cement Based Materials (ScienceDirect Freedom Collection, 1994 - current)
Advanced Composite Materials (Business Source Complete, 1998 - current, 18-month embargo)
ASHRAE Transactions (Academic Search Complete, 2004 - current)
Building & Management (Directory of Open Access Journals [DOAJ], 2017 - current)
Building & Environment (ScienceDirect, 1976 - current)
Building Economist (Business Source Complete, 2008 - current)
Building Research & Information (Business Source Complete, 1997 - current, 18-month embargo)
Building Research Journal (DOAJ, 2014 - current)
Buildings (Business Source Complete, 1996 - current)
Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering (Academic Search Complete, 2001 - current, 12-month embargo)
Cement and Concrete Research (ScienceDirect, 1971- current)
Construction and Building Materials (ScienceDirect, 1987 - current)
Contractor (Business Source Complete, 1999 - current)
EC&M: Electrical Construction & Maintenance (Business Source Complete, 1997 - current)
Energy & Buildings (ScienceDirect, 1977 - current)
ENR: Engineering News-Record (Business Source Complete, 2001 - current)
Engineering Structures (ScienceDirect, 1978 - current)
Fatigue and Fracture of Engineering Materials and Structures (Wiley, 1979 - current)
Indoor Air (Wiley, 1991 - current)
International Construction (Business Source Complete, 1997 - current)
Journal of Construction in Developing Countries (DOAJ, 2006 - current)
Journal of Constructional Steel Research (JCSR) (ScienceDirect, 1980 - current)
Journal of Information Technology in Construction (DOAJ, 1996 - current)
Lean Construction Journal (DOAJ, 2004 - current)
Steel Research International (Wiley, 2003 - current)
Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings (Wiley, 2003 - current)
Structural Safety (ScienceDirect, 1982 - current)
Underground Construction (Business Source Complete, 1997 - current)

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Teacher Education, Social Sciences, Business, Political Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Music, Art & Design,
Theatre Arts Searchable collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, science and math, business and health and medicine.

Click on the title for on and off-campus access:

Architects at Work (54:00) -- Includes: Guggenheim Bilbao-Frank Gehry; New Urbanism: Sense of Community-Vincent Scully; Denver Art Museum- Daniel Libeskind; New Urbanism: Design for Community Living-Kentlands
Green Architecture: Environmentally Friendly Housing (31:00) -- "Combining aesthetics, sustainability, and function is the challenge of green architecture" Includes: Functionality in Solar Powered Home Design (03:28); Old and New Technology in Solar Home Design (01:57); Climate Control Systems in Solar Powered Homes(3:15)
More Than a Box with Windows Schluter Headquarters-A Case Study in Green Design and Construction (59:00) -- Building green: that was the goal of Schluter, a company specializing in tile installation systems. It wanted its new Canadian headquarters to be low impact, energy efficient, comfortable to work in, and a showcase for tiles. This documentary narrated by energy conservation specialist Jon Eakes explores the science that went into the design and construction of the award-winning, LEED Gold-certified building while explaining why the integration of green systems is essential to making an office that is ecologically responsible.
Landscape: The Invention of Nature (27:00) -- ".. the program shows how awareness and mastery of perspective evolved.." Includes: Science of Perspective (03:20)
Last Call for Planet Earth: Sustainable Development and Architecture (75:00)
"This program studies the work of leading architects around the globe, all of whom employ green concepts and eco-friendly materials.." Includes: Architectural Designs for Energy Efficiency (03:54) Green Roof Technology (02:19) Passive Solar Energy (05:56) New Concept of Cities (04:37)

Why limit your options?

If the CMU Library does not have what you need, the Inter-Library Loan Department obtains articles, borrows books, music, movies, or documentaries for you. Take advantage of this popular and valuable service for faculty, staff and students. It's fast, easy and free!

ILLIAD is our Inter-Library Loan system. Place a new request or check on the status of an existing request through ILLIAD. Physical items are delivered to the CMU Library Circulation Desk, Montrose or Western Colorado Community College campuses. Articles are easily retrieved from your desktop, tablet or smart device.

Becky Bernal, Resource Sharing Coordinator, or Reference Librarians are available to answer any questions you have. Please see our FAQ for further information.

Most of our databases allow you to save your searches and to set up notifications when new articles on your topic are published. These tutorials walk you through the process in a selection of our databases. If you need help setting up a search notification email me at lcantwell@coloradomesa.edu or visit my office in the Library (L173).