LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Journals

Journal Article Resources for Nursing

To find scholarly journal articles:

Browse issues of print or electronic journals to see what's been published on your topic
Search article indexes/databases
Mine book and article (etc.) bibliographies

To search databases effectively:

Read database descriptions to find the one(s) most likely to have the information you need
Brainstorm a list of keywords and synonyms to try in searches
Use the database's thesaurus or list of subject headings to find the best search terms for your topic
Start broad, then filter
Try, try again: different database, keyword(s), search field(s)

Article indexes: These databases each provide citations for articles published in a select group of journals (title list varies by database). Some citations will have full-text articles attached (which are indicated by PDF icons/links or HTML icons/links). However, rarely will databases include full text for every article. Top article databases for CMU's Nursing students include:

CINAHL Complete: Provides full text for more than 1,300 journals.
PubMed with CMU Collections: Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Also included are links to full-text articles available through the library. Look for the Find Full-Text button on the upper right side of the screen to see if the library has it.

Digital article collection: This is a digital library of full-text journals direct from the publisher (Elsevier).

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection: Provides access to full-text titles on topics including Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, Neuroscience, Medicine and Dentistry, Nursing and Health Professions, Pharmacology, and Toxicology.

Specialized resources: These databases index specific types of information that is unique to them (they do not index journal articles).

PsycIN FO: Provides descriptions of and access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments.
Cochrane Library, Evidence Based Medicine: Systematic reviews published by Cochrane, as well as review protocols and editorials.
Up-to-Date: Full-text resource for peer reviewed and graded evidence-based recommendations for quality patient care and treatment that can be used by healthcare practitioners in making point-of-care decisions. DUE TO LICENSING LIMITATIONS, THIS RESOURCE IS LIMITED TO STUDENTS ENROLLED IN NURSING COURSES AND NURSING FACULTY.

If you find a citation for an article that doesn’t have (free) full text attached, search for the journal title in CMU's Journal Finder search tool to see if we subscribe to the journal in print or in electronic format. If not, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.

CMU's Journal Finder tool