Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Academic Sources

Finding a Database in Your Discipline

As your research gets more specific, you'll want to know which databases are specific to your discipline or major. Follow these steps to find databases dedicated to your discipline or major. Searching within the databases for your discipline will allow you to focus on the journals relevant your field, saving time and effort. Follow these steps to find databases dedicated to your discipline: 

  1. On the search box at the top of the library homepage, click on the "Databases" tab.
  2. You'll have the option to search for a particular database or to browse databases by subject. Select a subject from the "Browse by subject" menu.
  3. You'll see a list of databases for that subject area, usually with a Best Bets section to help get you started.

 

Activity: Take a moment to explore a database that is specific to your discipline

Let's try a quick search in a database that has content specific to your area of study. Most databases operate similarly, so keep in mind when you're typing in keywords-- less is more. Avoid typing in an entire question. 

Activity: 

1. On the search box at the top of the library homepage, click on the "Databases" tab.
2. You'll have the option to search for a particular database or to browse databases by subject. Select a subject from the "Browse by subject" menu.
3. You'll see a list of databases for that subject area, usually with a Best Bets section to help get you started.
4. Choose a database from the provided list. 
5. Start exploring -- add a few keywords, try an advanced search, set a few limits from the left hand side. 

Share your thoughts (2-3 sentences) about using a database that is subject specific. How might this be helpful to you? What questions do you have?