LibGuides: Japanese Language Learning Tools: Let's Learn Japanese!

Online learning tools

NHK World Japan
NHK, a public-broadcasting company in Japan, provides a variety of lessons to learn Japanese as well as Japanese television content with English subtitles. The content is also available on their apps for streaming and mobile devices.
Learn Japanese: Tae Kim's Guide to Learning Japanese
An online textbook with videos and exercises to help you learn Japanese basics and a wide variety of grammar.
Kanshudo
Learn to read, write, and listen to Japanese with an AI-assisted learning system. Includes games, flashcards, and a Japanese mastery map. You need to register for free access and can earn coupons toward free months of pro access by studying.
Tofugu: Learn Japanese
A step-by-step guide to learning Japanese. This can act as a companion as you begin to learn Japanese. Once you become more comfortable, the pace is less guided with various grammar and vocabulary tutorials available.
Mykikitori
Practice listening to easy Japanese conversations. There's a natural speed mode and a slower mode to make it easier to listen for familiar words.
Irodori
This online Japanese course for learning everyday Japanese can be used through the website or by downloading the app. Registration is required.
Lingq
Once you know the basics, this website has resources for you to encounter Japanese in natural contexts like TV shows, newspapers, podcasts, etc.
Portal for Learning Japanese
This is a compilation of resources for learning Japanese if you want to go beyond what's listed in this guide.

renshuu
My #1 recommendation of the apps since you can target it to your level instead of being forced to start at the beginning. Adorable and highly-rated Japanese language learning app for Android or Apple devices. Teaches vocabulary, writing, grammar, and listening at different levels and includes fun games to help you practice.
Mango Languages courtesy of Mesa County Public Library
If you have a Mesa County Public Library card, you can download and use the Mango Languages app to learn Japanese for free!
Human Japanese Lite
Available at different learning levels on Android and Apple devices, this app provides well-rounded lessons that explain the language as well as teach the basic concepts. As is typical with language learning apps, initial content is free with the extended version available if you're willing to pay for it.
Easy Japanese News
Available on Apple and Android devices, this app lets you practice reading Japanese news articles with a built in dictionary to help you with unfamiliar words and phrases.
Lirer and Bunpo
Payment required! This app is available for both iPhones and Android phones. It's best for learning vocabulary and recognizing hiragana, katakana, and kanji, but there's also listening practice as well. Bunpo is the grammar version of the app.

Top 30 Japanese Podcasts for Learners of All Levels
This article breaks out different types of Japanese language podcasts into learning levels.
Fun Japanese Listening
Practice listening to easy Japanese sentences. It requires some existing knowledge to get started, but the sentences are said slowly and translations are available on the website: https://funjapaneselistening.wordpress.com/category/unit1-dictation/.
Learn Japanese Pod
Placing an emphasis on natural language use, the Japanese used in this podcast may not sound quite like your textbook. It also includes English-language explanations of the grammar and Japanese culture.
Beginning Japanese Phrases
Short clips emphasize the pronunciation of specific words and phrases in Japanese, demonstrate them in example sentences, and slow down the audio to allow you to shadow the native speaker

Japanese Podcast for Beginners
This series of videos introduces easy concepts in Japanese and includes English. It's based on the Genki series of textbooks. Make sure to sort the videos so you see the oldest ones first.
JapanesePod101 YouTube videos
A wide variety of topics are covered in these recorded live-streams of Japanese lessons. They also have an app and website (japanesepod101.com) with some free lesson content, though more advanced access to lessons requires payment.
Smile Nihongo
These videos introduce how to write Japanese and also the grammar concepts from the Genki textbook series in a clear and easily understood manner. The videos do include some advertising for Yuko-sensei's courses.
Easy Peasy Japanesey
Do you like anime and video games? This video series breaks down lines from both to help you understand Japanese and also what everyday people do and don't say in Japan.

There are many native-Japanese teachers offering content on social media to help you learn. This is less structured than the websites and apps I've suggested, but it can help familiarize you with more vocabulary and grammar. Often times they have multiple social media accounts like Instagram and YouTube. Below are a few suggestions from Instagram.

@japanese_teacher_4u
Excellent for learners who know some Japanese but aren't necessarily intermediate or advanced.
@learnjapanesewithsayuri
Also has videos on YouTube!
@azuma_nihongo
@cobato.japanese
If you're interested in knowing the level of the grammar or vocabulary, she includes the N1-N5 designation in her posts.
@japaneseyuki000
If you're wondering about the differences between similar vocabulary words, often her posts help to clarify when to use one over the other. May be more suitable for intermediate learners.

Japanese-speaking Librarian

Amber D'Ambrosio

Email Me

Contact:

Tomlinson Library 338
Special Collections and Archives

970-248-1864

Subjects: Art & Design

Japanese Language Learning Tools

Introduction

Online dictionaries

Online learning tools

Japanese-speaking Librarian