LibGuides: GEOG 102: Human Geography: Research Basics

Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see tab above), you can search by title, and Google Scholar will link you to the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

Start your research with these databases:

Census Data This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social Sciences, Political Sciences OPEN ACCESS RESOURCE The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Political Sciences Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.

Other databases that may be useful:

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Subject: Academic Journals for all subjects Some full-text to multidisciplinary journals and magazines from 1994-current.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Physical & Environmental Sciences Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Other helpful resources & sites:

Bouncy Maps
Visualization of maps through data on religion, agriculture, industry, population, health, and more.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Ethnologue
Seeks to provide profiles for every language on earth along with maps where each language is spoken.
National Geographic
Access National Geographic magazine from 1995 to 2021
UNESCO World Heritage Sites
A map displaying the 981 properties that make up the World Heritage list

Reference Resources for Definitions & Terms

Dictionary of Geography

Covering all aspects of physical and human geography, this dictionary is an essential guide to students at all levels. It has been fully revised and updated, and includes more than 400 new entries, recommended web links for many entries, and over 15 new illustrations.

A Dictionary of Human Geography

Provides an in-depth guide to all aspects of human geography, including cultural, social, developmental, economic, political, and health geography.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Place Names

This dictionary explores the history, meanings, and origin of place names around the world. It covers continents, countries, regions, islands, bays, capes, cities, towns, deserts, lakes, mountains, and rivers, giving the name in the local language as well as key historical facts associated with many place names.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations

Presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.

The Atlas of World History

Find in-person @ CMU Library: G1030.A75 2005