LibGuides: A Film Research Guide: Directors, Screenwriters, & Actors

Search for biographies and autobiographies

Use the search box below to find books, ebooks, and streaming documentary films

Reference Books

The Wallflower Critical Guide to Contemporary North American Directors
Call Number: Ref PN1998.2 .C68 2002
Biographical and critical profiles of contemporary film directors in the U. S. and Canada.

These resources can be found in the Reference collection on the 1st floor of the library.

Contemporary Theatre, Film & Television
Call Number: Ref PN2285 .C58
A biographical guide featuring performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, managers, choreographers, technicians, composers, executives, & critics.
Current Biography
Call Number: Ref CT100 .C8
Includes well-researched profiles for noteworthy figures in popular culture and society, including film and the media. More than a sketch, profiles include information on the person's early life, influences and career development.
World Film Directors 1945-1985
Call Number: Ref PN1998.2 .W67 v. 1-2
Includes lengthy profiles of each director's life and work.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Call Number: Ref PN1997.8 .I58 v. 1-5
Volumes devoted to Directors/Filmmakers, Actors, Writers and Production Artists, and their films. Profiles focus on the person's unique contributions to film.

Other Biographical Sources - Journal Articles and Biographical Profiles

Literature Online(LION) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre Arts, Literature Literary criticisms, biographies of authors, reference resources, plus works of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the sixth century to the present day.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Subject: Archaeology, Art, Architecture, History, Language, Linguistics, Health,
Music, Literature, Philosophy, Science, and Social Science. Full-text subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Communication and mass media studies peer-reviewed journals and trade publications from 1945-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citations styles.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Theatre Arts Index with some full-text to journal articles, books, and dissertations in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, literary criticism, literary theory, and modern languages and linguistics; 1920-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subject: Art, Language, Literature, Communication, Music Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in literature and criticism, visual and performing arts, history, political science, cultural studies, and related disciplines from 1990-current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window