LibGuides: MATH 492: Math Senior Capstone: Mathematics Research

Finding Books

Prospector is a shared catalog of the major libraries in Colorado and Wyoming, providing access to over 30 million items. Use the "Request It" button to request materials for delivery to Tomlinson Library (usually within 3-5 business days).

WorldCat searches holdings in 10,000 libraries worldwide. Click on the "Order from Interlibrary Loan" button to request materials from other libraries.

Finding Journal Articles

Databases with Journal Articles Concerning Mathematics & Statistics

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Mathematics & Statistics Index with abstracts (and some linked full-text) of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in mathematics from 1940-current.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.

JSTOR Advanced Search
Scholarly journal archive with a "moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years) of back-issue coverage. Includes 72 mathematics journals, including College Mathematics Journal and Mathematics Magazine.

Mathematics journals (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Mathematics & Statistics Open Access resource Available through arXiv.org you can find many scholarly articles submitted to this archive. NOTE: the papers in this archive are NOT peer reviewed or moderated.

Education Databases with Journal Articles on the Teaching of Math

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Teacher Education
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Education, Kinesiology Journal articles, reports, research documents, papers, and dissertations in the field of education (some full-text); from The U.S. Dept. of Education; 1966-current.

Use the Math Subject Classification scheme to browse MathSciNet by topic.

Click on covers to access all issues

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

Go to Google Scholar
Click on the Settings link from the menu on the left
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

Why limit your options?

If the CMU Library does not have what you need, the Inter-Library Loan Department obtains articles, borrows books, music, movies, or documentaries for you. It's fast, easy and free! Place a new request or check on the status of an existing request on our Interlibrary Loan dashboard..