Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask a Librarian!
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice Resources

For research, writing, and careers

Navigating Directly to Databases from the Library Home Page

We've made it easy! When you're on the library home page, just look for the A-Z Databases link in the center of the page, at the top of a list of important links. This is good for when you remember the name (or the beginning of the name) of your favorite database. You don't need to go to this guide for the link -- just click on the letter it begins with and scroll down to it to start searching. You can also go here to explore databases recommended for particular subject areas by changing "All Subjects" to a particular subject area.

Need a topic? Great places to start

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

  • click view all next to Law and Politics
  • notice criminal justice and other legal topics
  • click into a topic that interests you
  • read the introductory article for background information
  • notice the variety of types of sources in the links on the right
  • scroll down to a resource type and click in to explore the titles
  • notice patterns of narrowed topics
  • choose one to follow by opening articles in a new tab
  • notice the citation tool and grab your citation for interesting articles

CQ Researcher

  • hover over browse topics and click into Law and Justice and find an area of interest to explore
  • notice the title when you reach a full report  -- a research question, narrower and related to the topic
  • notice the related reports and chronology for further exploration
  • visit the overview and pros/cons sections first to learn about the issue
  • notice features like cited images and statistics that are good for presentations
  • hover over footnotes to find a link to the original source
  • notice the linked references and trusted websites at the end of the article
  • find the article citation at the bottom of the page

Criminal Justice-Specific Databases

NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, this database contains:

  • Publications (Full Text)
  • Publications (Abstracts Only)
  • Crimesolutions.gov Programs
  • Related Links
  • Q&A
  • Conferences
  • Federal Justice Web Pages

Notice the Help box on the right for search hints

Homeland Security Digital Library

Use the search bar to find articles on a topic you are already researching

OR find a topic by clicking next to Featured Topics

  • click into an area of interest to find articles, reports, etc.
  • notice the menu on the right, especially the research tools where you can click into particular types of resources (books, journals, websites, etc.)

 

Nexis Uni 

Find state and federal court cases, statutes, and law reviews as well as regional, national, and international newspapers.

  • use a keyword from your topic search to put in the search box an discover articles
  • click Look up a legal case to search by topic and find law reviews
  • notice the research guides and video tutorials for advanced searching help