LibGuides: Water Resources: Databases & Journals

Need Help with Peer Review?

Confused about scholarly, peer-reviewed articles?

Check out the following links for more information:

-- Anatomy of a scholarly article (NCSU Libraries)

-- Read/Review a scientific journal article (Duke University)

Recommended Library Databases & Journals

The following library subscription databases may lead you to more information.

Water Science

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Agriculture Open Access Resource AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+s records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
GEORef This link opens in a new window
Subject: Geology American Geological Institute's geosciences database containing some linked full-text of journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations; 1785-current.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Some full-text peer-reviewed articles from 1950-current.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.

More Recommended Library Databases & Journals

Water Law & News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.

Setting up Google Scholar for Off-campus Access

Searching Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com
Within Google Scholar, click on the Settings link in the top right corner (near the fly-wheel icon)
On the next Scholar Settings page, select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links search box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting.

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text. Google Scholar also tracks articles that have referenced a specific article and so can be used to follow a trail of scholarship on a topic. Under an article of interest, click on the “Cited by” link to see a list of the subsequent articles that have referenced it.