Citation Resources

Zotero.org

In short: Zotero is a research tool that helps users collect and organize sources. It’s a free, open-source program that can be downloaded as a browser extension for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari and as a standalone program that works with Windows, Mac, or Linux systems. It’s also desktop application that lives in your browser. For many major databases and websites, the program can tell when a list of books or articles is displayed by showing an icon in the address bar, so citation information can be saved with just a few clicks.

About Zotero:

• FREE citation management tool
• Desktop version available
• Annotation and highlighting options     
• MS Word integration for in-text references & bibliographies
• Can sync to an online account (free) for access to your references on the go!
• Browser extensions to help add & use citations right in your browser
• Works with library research databases via direct import/export and download-to-import options

Installing Zotero:

• Download PC or Mac version from the Zotero web site: https://www.zotero.org/download/
• After downloading the desktop version, add the browser extensions for your preferred browser (Chrome, Safari, Firefox)
  • Installing will require a quick restart of the browser.

After Installing:

• Restart your browser.
• Go to Zotero.org to create a Zotero account. Doing so is strongly recommended, for syncing citations and on-the-go access to your “library” of sources.
• Zotero accounts allow you to sync your references between computers and use groups.

For Maximum Impact:

• Install the plug-in for Word integration: https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_integration
• Explore the FAQ (https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions) and the Quick Start Guide (with videos: https://www.zotero.org/support/quick_start_guide) 
• Connect with others in your specialty: https://www.zotero.org/people/  

Want to learn more about Zotero and how to use it for your research?

Let’s talk! We can set up an in-person or remote appointment to help you use this tool.

>> PS: We do not guarantee citations (in-text or bibliography entries) will be perfect. >> You definitely still want to proofread and verify that all the necessary citation information is included for the style (e.g., APA, MLA) and type of item you're citing. :-)

Citation Help via Google Scholar

In short: Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

About Google Scholar:

• FREE
• Looks like Google so it’s user-friendly and familiar
• Ways to access full-text scholarly sources through CMU (see below for set-up)
• You can create an account and Save articles to review at a later time/date
• Create a search alert for when new material on your topic(s) of interest have been added
• Can search patents and case law (legal content), too

Getting Set-up for Success with Google Scholar:

• Click  at the top of the page to access Google Scholar Settings in your browser
• Click “Library Links” on the left side of the page
• Search for: Colorado Mesa University
• Check the box for “Colorado Mesa University – Full-text available”

Interpreting Your Google Scholar Search Results:

But Beware – Nothing is Perfect! We do not guarantee citations (in-text or bibliography entries) will be perfect. >> You definitely still want to proofread and verify that all the necessary citation information is included for the style (e.g., APA, MLA) and type of item you're citing. :-)

Getting Familiar with Google Scholar:

• Explore the “Google Scholar Search Tips” page: https://www.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html  

Want to learn more about Google Scholar and how to use it for your research?

Let’s talk! We can set up an in-person or remote appointment to help you use this tool.