LibGuides: ARTH 220: History of Modern Art: Home

Virtual art exhibits from around the world

African Artists' Foundation in Lagos, Nigeria
"Established in 2007 in Lagos, Nigeria, African Artists’ Foundation aims to encourage the highest standard of art in Africa. African Artists’ Foundation serves a significant role in art and academic communities through organizing art exhibitions, festivals, competitions, residencies, and workshops with the aim of unearthing and developing talent, creating societal awareness, and providing a platform to express creativity."
Iziko Museums of South Africa in Cape Town, South Africa
The Iziko South African National Gallery (ISANG) is South Africa's premier art museum, housing outstanding collections of South African, African, British, French, Dutch and Flemish art.
Johannesburg Art Gallery in Johannesburg, South Africa
"Johannesburg Art Gallery boasts the largest public collection of modern and contemporary art on sub-Saharan Africa. It houses collections of 17th-century Dutch paintings, 18th- and 19th-century British and European art, 19th-century South African works, a large contemporary collection of 20th-century South African and international art, and a print portfolio containing works from the 15th century to the present."
Maboneng Precinct public art in Johannesburg, South Africa
The Maboneng Precinct is a neighborhood located on the East side of downtown Johannesburg, South Africa. "From Maboneng’s early beginnings, public art has played a significant role not only in the aesthetic upgrade of the neighbourhood, but in giving Maboneng a dynamic identity. Multiple artists, both local and international, have breathed new life and made their mark in the area, creating large-scale artworks that continue to enhance the precinct’s unique aesthetic."
William Humphreys Art Gallery in Kimberley, South Africa
"The William Humphreys Art Gallery provides for the aesthetic and cultural needs of the local community it serves as well as of the people of South Africa. To this end it collects, preserves, documents, researches and exhibits works of art which represent the artistic heritage of all South Africans and utilises its assets for the enrichment and enjoyment of the people. This it does by pursuing the highest standards of excellence and without regard to race, class, creed or gender."

National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in South Korea
The National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in South Korea contains an inspiring mix of print, design, sculpture, photography, new media and other large-scale installations. From Joseph Beuys to Warhol and Nam June Paik, the collection includes an international lineup of established artists, contemporary Korean artworks and emerging names.
National Museum in New Delhi, India
The Museum has in its possession approximately 2,00,000 works of exquisite art of diverse nature, both Indian and foreign and its holdings cover a time span of more than five thousand years of our cultural heritage.
more...less...
http://nationalmuseumindia.gov.in/
National Museum of China in Beijing, China
"The National Museum of China covers Chinese history from 1.7 million years ago to the end of the Qing Dynasty in 1911. Notable works include the “Houmuwu” Rectangle Ding, a rectangular bronze sacrificial vessel made in the late Shang Dynasty, the heaviest piece of ancient bronze ware in the world, and a Han Dynasty jade burial suit laced with gold thread. It is one of the largest museums in the world, and the second-most visited art museum in the world, just after the Louvre."
National Museum of Korea in Seoul, South Korea
"When Japan was defeated in the Second World War, Korea regained its independence. Upon liberation in 1945, Korea took over the Joseon Government-General Museum and renamed it the “National Museum” (國立博物館). At that time, the museum’s organization and exhibitions were insignificant compared to what exists today. Nevertheless, the museum played a significant role in restoring the nation's damaged cultural pride and correcting false historical images of Korea."
National Palace Museum in Taipei, Taiwan
"The National Palace Museum has a collection of nearly 700,000 pieces of ancient Chinese imperial artifacts and artworks. The collection encompasses 8,000 years of history of Chinese art including Jade, paintings, bronzes, and porcelain that were formerly held in the Forbidden City of Peking."
Tokyo National Museum in Tokyo, Japan
"The Tokyo National Museum is the oldest and largest art museum in Japan, and one of the largest art museums in the world. At the museum, you’ll find a collection of artwork and cultural objects from Asia, ancient and medieval Japanese art, and Asian art along the Silk Road."
more...less...
Additional online content such as English video tours of the collections are available on their website: https://www.tnm.jp/?lang=en

Albertina in Vienna, Austria
"The Albertina features one of the most important European collections of international modern art and houses one of the largest and most important print rooms in the world with approximately 65,000 drawings and 1 million old master prints. Hundreds of the works housed in the museum, like Study for the Last Supper by Da Vinci and The Water Lily Pond by Monet, can be viewed online."
Benaki Museum in Athens, Greece
The Benaki Museum houses Greek works of art from the prehistorical to the modern times and an extensive collection of Asian art.
Dalí Theatre-Museum in Figueres, Spain
"Dedicated to the life and work of the surrealist artist Salvador Dalí, the Dalí Theatre-Museum displays the single largest and most diverse collection of works by the artist. In addition to Dalí paintings from all decades of his career, there are Dalí sculptures, 3-dimensional collages, mechanical devices, and other curiosities from Dalí’s imagination."
Grand Palais in Paris, France
"The Grand Palais is a large historic site, exhibition hall, and museum dedicated to the organization of exhibitions, publishing of books, art workshops, photographic agency, and hosting major fairs and events."
Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg, Russia
"The Hermitage Museum is the second-largest and eighth-most visited art museum in the world. The Hermitage has over 60,000 pieces of artwork on display, including works like the Peacock Clock by James Cox, Madonna Litta by Leonardo Da Vinci, and works by Rembrandt, Michelangelo, and Antonio Canova."
La Galleria Nazionale in Rome, Italy
"La Galleria Nazionale displays about 1,100 paintings and sculptures of the 19th and 20th centuries — the largest collection in Italy. It features work from famous Italian artists like Giacomo Balla, Umberto Boccioni, Alberto Burri, and foreign artists like Cézanne, Monet, Pollock, Rodin, and Van Gogh."
Mauritshuis in The Hague, Netherlands
"The Mauritshuis is home to some of the best of Dutch paintings from the Golden Age of Art. The museum consists of 854 works by artists like Johannes Vermeer, Rembrandt Van Rijn, and Jan Steen. Famous works include Girl with a Pearl Earring (pictured above), View of Delft by Vermeer, and The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp by Rembrandt Van Rijn."
Musée du Louvre in Paris, France
"The Louvre is easily one of the most historic art museums in the world. Not only is the Louvre the largest art museum in the world at 782,910 square feet (72,735 square meters), but it also had 9.6 million visitors in 2019, making it the most visited museum in the world as well. Featured masterpieces include the Mona Lisa, Winged Victory of Samothrace, Venus de Milo, and Hammurabi’s Code."
Musée d’Orsay in Paris, France
"The museum holds mainly French art dating from 1848 to 1914, including paintings, sculptures, furniture, and photography. It houses the largest collection of Impressionist and Post-Impressionist masterpieces in the world, including works by Cézanne, Degas, Gauguin, Manet, Monet, Renoir, Seurat, Sisley, and Van Gogh."
Museo Nacional del Prado in Madrid, Spain
"The Museo Nacional del Prado is considered to have one of the greatest collections of European art in the world and offers guests the single largest collection of Spanish art. The collection currently comprises around 8,200 drawings, 7,600 paintings, 4,800 prints, and 1,000 sculptures. Well known works include Las Meninas by Diego Velázquez, The Third of May 1808 by Francisco De Goya, and The Garden of Earthly Delights by Hieronymus Bosch."
Vatican Museums in Italy
The Vatican Museums contain some of the most famous art in the world, and the virtual tour lets you view it all in context using 360 degree perspectives, including the incredible ceiling of the Sistine Chapel.
Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, Netherlands
"The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. Its world-famous masterworks from the Dutch Golden Age include the Milkmaid by Vermeer and Rembrandt's Night Watch. The Rijksmuseum itself is also a masterpiece. The collection is presented in a stunning building with amazing interior design. In 80 galleries 8,000 objects tell the story of 800 years of Dutch art and history, from the Middle Ages to Mondrian."
National Gallery in London, England
The National Gallery is home to 2,300 publicly-owned paintings, watercolors, drawings, and other European art from the 13th to the mid-20th century. There are seven exhibition spaces of Renaissance art and the Central Hall to explore in its 360-view virtual touring pages, from portraits to large dramatic altarpieces.
Victoria and Albert Museum in London, England
"The Victoria and Albert Museum collection spans 5,000 years of art from Europe, North America, Asia, and North Africa. The collection of ceramics, glass, textiles, costumes, silver, ironwork, jewelry, furniture, medieval objects, sculpture, prints and printmaking, drawings, and photographs is among the largest and most comprehensive in the world."

Art Institute of Chicago in Chicago, Illinois
"The Art Institute of Chicago is one of the oldest and largest art museums in the U.S. The online tour allows you to view major pieces from the museum’s collection, like American Gothic, A Sunday on La Grande Jatte, and Nighthawks. The site also offers projects to get creative at home, educator resources, and JourneyMaker, a digital tool that allows visitors to create unique, personalized tours of the museum."
Frick Collection in New York City
Located in the Henry Clay Frick House, the Frick Collection houses the art collection of industrialist Henry Clay Frick. The collection features some of the best-known paintings by major European artists like Bellini, Rembrandt, Vermeer, as well as numerous works of sculpture and porcelain. The entire museum can be viewed virtually.
J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, California
"The J. Paul Getty Museum at the Getty Center features works of art dating from the eighth through the twenty-first century. The collection includes European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and European, Asian, and American photographs. The J. Paul Getty Museum at the Getty Villa in Malibu features Greek, Roman, and Etruscan antiquities."
The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, also known as “the Met,” is the largest art museum in the U.S. The permanent collection contains over 2 million works from classical antiquity and ancient Egypt, paintings and sculptures from nearly all the European masters (like Monet’s Water Lillies), and an extensive collection of American and modern art. It also has extensive holdings of African, Asian, Oceanian, Byzantine, and Islamic art."
Detroit Institute of Arts in Detroit, Michigan
The Detroit Institute of Arts has one of the largest and most significant art collections in the U.S. Its collection features works spanning from ancient Egypt and Europe to modern contemporary art.
Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Sante Fe, New Mexico
"The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum is dedicated to the artistic legacy of Georgia O’Keeffe and her work on American Modernism. The museum’s collection includes many of O’Keeffe’s key works, ranging from her innovative abstractions to her iconic large-format flower, skull, and landscape paintings to paintings of architectural forms, rocks, shells, and trees."
High Museum of Art in Atlanta, Georgia
"The High Museum of Art offers over 15,000 works of art in its collection and is the leading art museum in the southeastern U.S. The museum focuses on 19th- and 20th-century American art, historic and contemporary decorative arts and design, European paintings, modern and contemporary art, photography, folk and self-taught art, and African art."

Museo Frida Kahlo in Mexico City, Mexico
"The Frida Kahlo Museum is a historic museum dedicated to the life and work of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. The building was Kahlo’s birthplace, the home where she grew up, lived with her husband Diego Rivera for many years, and where she later died. The museum contains a collection of artwork by Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera, and other artists, along with the couple’s Mexican folk art, pre-Hispanic artifacts, photographs, memorabilia, personal items, and more."
National Museum of Art (MUNAL) in Mexico City, Mexico
"The National Museum of Art (MUNAL), founded in 1982 and located in the historical center of Mexico City, hosts the most important collection of Mexican art in the country. The collection was created by merging the national stock the National Fine Arts Institute (INBA) had held since 1946, which, in turn, came from a variety of institutions, the Modern Art Museum, the San Carlos Museum, and the San Diego Viceregal Painting Gallery."
Dolores Olmedo Museum in Mexico City, Mexico
"The world's most important collections of works by Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo are housed here permanently and are adored by the legions of visitors who flock to admire them. There is, as well, a collection of the woodcuts and book illustrations by Russo-French painter Angelina Beloff, Rivera's companion during his early years as a budding painter in Europe."
Museu de Arte de São Paulo in Brazil
Museu de Arte de São Paulo has the most important collection of European art in the Southern Hemisphere. Today, MASP’s collection contains more than 8.000 works, including paintings, sculptures, objects, photographs, and costumes from a wide range of periods, encompassing art from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.