LibGuides: CUAR 245: International Cuisine: Food Culture & History

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of North American Eating and Drinking Traditions, Customs, and Rituals by Kathyln Gay
Call Number: CMU Ref CollectionGT 2853.U5 G39 1996
ISBN: 0874367565
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Entries of a paragraph or two discuss aspects of American cuisine. Includes not only types of food and dishes, but festivals, traditional holidays, eating and drinking establishments, meals such as a continental breakfast, and ethnic foods.

Use the library's REFERENCE RESOURCES to gather:

-Background information about your topic; dates, names, locations

-Keywords and subject-specific vocabulary that will help you in searching more complex sources and databases

-Context; reference resources can help you understand how your topic fits into a broader discipline or how multiple topics are interrelated

Note: these books do NOT check out.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Timothy L. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: CMU Ref Collection GN333 .W67 1998
ISBN: 0787605522
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Provides information on 500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different areas of daily life including clothing, food, language, and religion.

Search the Library's Catalog

Search for books by keyword or subject heading here.

Confused about the difference between keywords and subject heading searches? Watch the quick video below:

Books Available for Checkout

The following books are available for checkout at the CMU Library.

Everyone Eats by E. N. Anderson
Call Number: CMU Main GT2850 .A6644 2005
ISBN: 0814704964
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Provides an explanation of the nutritional reasons for why humans eat, resulting in a unique cultural and biological approach to the topic. Additionally explains the economics of food in the globalization era, food's relationship to religion, medicine, and ethnicity.
Food by Jean-Louis Flandrin (Editor); Massimo Montanari (Editor); Albert Sonnenfeld (Translator)
Call Number: CMU Main TX353 .H52513 1999
ISBN: 0231111541
Publication Date: 1999-11-23
Includes chapters on food and culture in ancient Egypt, dietary rules of ancient Hebrews, early Mediterranean diets, diet and medicine in the ancient world and more.
History of Food by Maguelonne Toussaint-Samat; Anthea Bell (Translator)
Call Number: CMU Main TX353 .T6413 1994
ISBN: 0631194975
Publication Date: 1994-09-28
The author looks at the transition from a vegetable - to an increasingly meat-based diet, as well as at the relationship between people and what they eat, between particular foods and social behavior and between dietary habits and methods of cooking. Includes a look at ingredients such as honey, oil, wine, spices, and more.
Cultural Foods by Pamela Goyan Kittler; Kathryn P. Sucher
Call Number: CMU Main TX725.A1 K545 2000
ISBN: 0534573398
Publication Date: 1999-07-13
This book provides information on the health, culture, and food and nutritional habits of most ethnic and racial groups living in the United States.

Ebooks

The types of ebook listed below are browser or web-based, i.e. they are designed to be read online and cannot be downloaded to a PC or digital device.

They Eat That? by Jonathan Deutsch; Natalya Murakhver
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780313380594
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Using the resource is a little tricky so following the steps below:
1) Click on Access ebook.
2) Type in the name or term you are searching for in the search box UNDER the TOC tab.
3) Use the right and left arrows immediately above the text to flip through pages.
4) To print, click on the dropdown menu from the InfoTools tab and select the appropriate page numbers.
World Food by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780765682796
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Browsing by topic, once inside the ebook, will allow you to look for countries, ethnic food choices and ingredients.
Street Food Around the World by Bruce Kraig
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781598849554
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Using the resource is a little tricky so following the steps below:
1) Click on Access ebook.
2) Type in the name or term you are searching for in the search box UNDER the TOC tab.
3) Use the right and left arrows immediately above the text to flip through pages.
4) To print, click on the dropdown menu from the InfoTools tab and select the appropriate page numbers.