LibGuides: CUAR 245: International Cuisine: Local Foods

Special Collections

The Special Collections Department of the Tomlinson Library collects and provides access to materials on the history of Western Colorado.

This collection include some local cookbooks in compact storage D.3.E.

- Materials from Special Collections are rare and can not be checked out.

- Make an appointment to consult with the Special Collections department via 970-248-1864 or jdildine@coloradomesa.edu.

Savor Colorado Cookbook by Chuck Johnson; Blanche Johnson; Tracy Johnson (As told to)
Call Number: CMU Special Collections TX715.2.C6 J6 2006

ISBN: 9781932098075

Publication Date: 2006-01-01

"Savor Colorado Mountains Western Slope Cookbook" features select recipes for entrees, appetizers, and desserts from Colorado's premier restaurants, along with photographs, descriptions, and historical information about each establishment.
Mesa County, cooking with history by edited by Evelyn Kyle and Emma McCreanor.
Call Number: CMU Special Collections TX715 .K95 1983

Publication Date: 1983
Southwestern Indian recipe book : Apache, Papago, Pima, Pueblo, & Navajo by Hesse, Zora Getmansky.
Call Number: CMU Special Collections TX715 .H48

Publication Date: 1973
Eating up the Santa Fe Trail by Samuel P. Arnold; Carrie F. Arnold (Illustrator)
Call Number: CMU Special Collections TX715.2.W47 LA76 1990

ISBN: 0870811878

Publication Date: 1990-11-01

Discusses social life and customs in relation to food following the Santa Fe Trail.
Centennial cookbook : 1882-1982
Call Number: CMU Special Collections TX715 .C4 1982

Publication Date: 1982

This book is available in Special Collections (not available for checkout). To make an appointment, contact 970-248-1864.

History of the Fruit Industry in Mesa County
Colorado's Extension, based at Colorado State University in Ft. Collins, has a local office and provides many resources related to local agriculture including this site.
Western Slope CSAs
This link lists all Western Slope Community Supported Agriculture groups (CSAs) registered with Grow Colorado. CSAs practice, in part, an alternative, locally-based economic model of agriculture and food distribution.
Slow Food Western Slope
Slow Food Western Slope is a non-profit organization that covers Delta, Mesa and Montrose counties in Western Colorado. Included in this link is a map to Western Slope food, wine and beer producers.