Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 425 - Scientific Writing

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar.  After setting up full text linking for CMU (see tab above), you can search by title, and Google Scholar will link you to the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

  1. To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
  2. Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
  3. Select Library links from the left-hand menu 
  4. Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box 
  5. Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
  6. Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article.  If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.  

InterLibrary Loan for Articles

If the CMU Library does not have what you need, the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) Department obtains articles, borrows books, music, movies, or documentaries. 

To place a new request, check on the status of an existing request, or retrieve your article you'll need to go through ILLIADour InterLibrary Loan system. The first time you use ILLIAD, you'll need to make an account. 

ILL Within the Databases

When searching in the databases, check the options below each item. Many will allow you to place an ILL request:


Click "Order from ILL", register for the ILL service using your MavZone credentials (if you haven't already) and the article you need to borrow will appear in the form.